top of page

BLOG

  • Writer's pictureSavannah

NutreeLife Protein Bars and Snacks – Review

For a while now, I’ve been searching for a vegan protein bar which not only tastes good, but has a protein content around the 20g mark, as you would expect from non-vegan bars. Unfortunately, as much as I enjoy the PhD Supergrain and Efectiv Whole bars that I’ve been buying over the last few months, at around just 10g of protein each for a 200 or so calorie bar, they’re on par with your average bagel.


I approached NutreeLife as their bars contain over 20g protein (admittedly they are higher calorie at almost 300) sourced from minimal, impressive ingredients such as peanut butter, pea protein and cocoa butter. A lot of popular protein bars around right now are completely off limits to me as the sugar alcohols irritate my stomach, but in this case you know exactly what you are putting into your body. They are free from gluten, soya, dairy and completely IBS friendly!


Flavours currently available:

  • Choc Orange

  • Lemon & Chia

  • Orange & Lemon

  • Maple Syrup

  • Sticky Toffee

  • Strawberry

  • Choc Mint

  • Chocolate


The bars are a hefty 66g and feel pretty dense, making them very satiating. Upon opening them, the appearance reminded me a little of a quest bar without the chunks. The texture is, in fact, completely different. Unlike the jaw breaking chewy quest bars these are much smoother, probably due to the cocoa butter and coconut oil. I don't think there is another bar on the market quite like them, and trust me I've tried a lot!

(photo taken from instagram @nutreelife)




I can imagine for those comparing to something like a carb killa, these would be pretty unimpressive. I, however, bought these as a healthy, wholefood snack… I neither wanted nor expected a faux chocolate bar! Those who enjoy a natural, no BS snack will adore these. I haven’t tried every flavour yet so I can't say for sure (will update via Instagram story if I change my mind) but so far chocolate mint has been my favourite. It reminds me of the filling in those round mint chocolates with the hard cream inside (photo above if anyone remembers them)!


For those looking for something that tastes more like a mock treat food, the protein snack bites are perfect. The chocolate vanilla reminded me of a fresh baked healthy brownie! Slightly nutty and grainy but incredibly cakey. Each 22g bite is under 100 calories with a generous 6.2g protein. I’d love to see how a spiced version of these with dried fruit inside would taste (hint hint)!


All in all, I would definitely purchase from NutreeLife in future. The quality of the ingredients used for the price of a box of 12, £23.88, is excellent and the customer service is wonderful.


1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page