top of page

BLOG

  • Writer's pictureSavannah

Eating and Drinking in Zadar, Croatia

For me, getting to try different foods is both one of the most exciting, and risky, parts of a tip abroad. Eating out is something that I don't do often, so getting to spend almost two weeks, self catering, in Zadar over the summer was hugely exciting for me, and the mental break I needed right after ending my prep and months of stress over petty, meaningless things like 'which green vegetable is the most macro friendly???'


Let's start with the highlight of my trip... high protein pizza base with chicken and vegetables from a local pizzeria (I also had a vegetarian version another night). I LOVE the grainy taste of wholewheat pastas and granary breads, and this had that same texture. 15/10.


This was a variation of a Zombie cocktail featuring the local booze of choice, cherry brandy. It sounds like an old lady drink, but we also tried it just mixed with Coke Zero and it is amazing, super syrupy and sweet. One of those drinks that goes down a little too easily. Must try.

This bar itself was a yachting bar on the marina and was quite pricey, but that is to be expected considering the location.


From the same bar, a passionfruit margarita.


Here we have a stunning green omelette, stuffed with feta cheese, with grilled veggies and fruit and bread from the side from a little cafe in old town Zadar, where we spent much of our trip getting lost in the little cobbled streets. Again, this is a slightly more expensive area to dine, but you can find cheaper options.


A cheaper bar along the rocky beach, one of my favorite drinks of the holiday: a long beach iced tea (long island, but with cranberry juice instead of coke).



Another cheap option from a restaurant along the beach. A chicken salad which rice on the side. Be warned... if you plan to go for rice as a healthier option, the rice is ALL cooked in butter. Doesn't matter how politely you ask. Butter. Although they do seem to know best, it tastes great.


For the most part, my food options were pretty healthy, simply because I love those foods. I still had a peanut butter ice cream every day though, and two drinks per night (anymore and I'm drunk, blessing and a curse of being someone who doesn't drink). I would highly recommend Zadar, visit the old town and go on as many trips as you can afford. Croatia is a beautiful country.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page